EOU Women’s Basketball: A Historic Season

Story by posted on May 6, 2013. Filed under Sports,Women's Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

By Tony Eackles Jr.

Contributing Writer


Photo credit: Tony Eackles Jr.

Eastern Oregon University’s Women’s Basketball team had a historic run during the 2012-13 season.

The Mountaineers finished with a record of 33-3 and ranked No. 5 in the final NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball Coaches’ Top 25 Poll.

The Mountaineers ended the season as Cascade Collegiate Conference and tournament champions—only two of their many accomplishments.

The Mountaineers made CCC history after becoming the first team, men or women, to finish conference play undefeated with a 21-0 record.

Before losing in the Elite 8 of the NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball National Championship, the Mountaineers set records with wins in a season (33) and longest winning streak in program history (27).

One of the Mountaineers’ more impressive feats this past season was their 12-0 record on the road. They were even more impressive at home, winning all 17 games.

Besides team accomplishments, several individuals stood out during the season.

Coach Anji Weissenfluh, in her 13th season, was named CCC Coach of the Year. Weissenfluh is also the most successful coach in the history of the program with 163 wins.

Seniors Brooke Randall, Kelsea Hurliman and Korrie Bourn received CCC-All conference honors. Randall was also a third team All-American selection, while Hurliman was an honorable mention.

Several Mountaineers also achieved excellence in the classroom during the season. Korrie Bourn, Jessica Kramer and Nicole Redd were 2013 NAIA Scholar Athletes.

The Mountaineers graduate five seniors from this year’s team, but have a good returning core for the 2013-14 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>